Status
Not open for further replies.

Cexistur

Hi! I'm Cexistur, and I'm new to TOL.

Unlike what seems to be most of you, I am a liberal atheist. However, I am not here to insult, I am here to debate. I feel that the word "debate" has been twisted from it's original meaning into something that some think of as malicious. However, this really is not the case.

Anyways, hi. :rapture:

Town Heretic

Out of Order
Hall of Fame
Hi! I'm Cexistur, and I'm new to TOL.

Unlike what seems to be most of you, I am a liberal atheist.
To hear the far right you'd think the place was almost entirely filled with Red Guard expats. There are a large number of left leaners and moderates forced into the left camp by the lack of designation (yours truly). The power structure is fairly conservative, but if you take the time to get to know them and familiarize yourself with the place you might find it as addictive as I do.

There are a number of atheists and agnostics who participate regularly and cordially enough and are well regarded by the faithful. And we have a few Buddhists, Muslims and a semi Hindu if you listen to freelight. :chuckle: We also get our fair share of Dawkins wannabes from time to time. They arrive with a rather predictable sneer and are normally sent packing in tears or while engaging in near Tourrette's level flame outs. The last fellow of the first sort styled himself Atheist PhD...seriously, he did that and expected to last a week.

However, I am not here to insult, I am here to debate.
There's no shortage of that to be found, along with general discussion and good natured or not so mockery, depending on the subject/object. A thick skin and sense of humor are lifelines around here.

I feel that the word "debate" has been twisted from it's original meaning into something that some think of as malicious. However, this really is not the case.
Depends on the practice, I suppose.

Anyways, hi. :devil:
Fixed that for you. :D

Bienvenidos! :e4e:

Newman