Why Posting on Forums is Like Amateur Radio (Ham Radio to the Unwashed)

Mocking You

I was wondering why I derive enjoyment talking with complete strangers on just about any subject on Internet forums. Suddenly it hit me--internet forums are somewhat like being an amateur radio operator. When I was a kid back in the 70's I was an amateur radio operator.

Amateur radio operators would trawl through noisy radio frequencies looking for an interesting topic and then join the conversations. You never knew who you were talking to except via their licensed callsign, i.e. W1ABC. The first and second character in the callsign was a clue to the other persons location, either by country (first character) and then the area within that country (second character).

You would say something (or tap it out in morse code) over the air waves then anxiously wait for a reply from a total stranger. If using morse code a simple conversation could take hours. Sometimes other people would chime in and move the conversation topic.

Sometimes real names would be exchanged and sometimes operators would send each other QSL cards in the mail, customized postcards with the operator's callsign, name, and location printed on them to prove you had communicated with that person. The idea was to collect QSL cards from far-flung places to prove that your radio rig and antenna system was top notch.

If you were an avid operator you would learn there were operators that were regularly on the same radio frequencies and would discuss the same topics. After a while you would know so-and-so would be on the 20 meter band between 8 and 10 at night talking about yagi antennas, or gun control, or movies. You would get to know this person via conversations without ever knowing what they looked like, unless you got their QSL card and there was a photograph of them on it.