Towards Deep Understanding: In Search of an Inspiring Opinion

dora

Hello everyone!

First of all I wanted to congratulate you on your beautiful community. I am writing to you from Italy so even though I have studied English I might be doing something wrong.

My name is Dora. I am writing to get some clarification... many friends have recommended this forum to me because of the topics I am going to deal with. I hope I haven't taken the wrong forum section. If so, please forgive me and move the discussion to the appropriate section.

I graduated in Computer Science at the University of Trento last year. Of course you may wonder what this has to do with my posting in a theology forum. I will explain:

For an exam on advanced cryptography, our professor handed us a handout that contained about sixty pages in black and white. They were written in a particular variant of the ancient Germanic Runic alphabet. Moreover, they were completely encrypted in several blocks. I'm not ashamed to say it, but we cheated our way through it!

No one in the course, apart from our small group of four, brought any results. The uncle of one of our classmates was a professor at UC Berkeley in San Francisco. Although he had retired, he remained a huge fan of cryptography. We sent him everything and he managed to complete 32½ pages in 6 blocks in just 2 months. Of course, he sent us the decryption process, which we understood nothing about!

The professor obviously noticed that we had cheated (I don't think he knew the content either and it was just a demonstration to show us how complex cryptography could be) but said nothing. It was a social experiment rather than an exam, and everyone passed because they put so much effort into trying to decrypt it in so many different ways.

Now. I hope I didn't bore you, but I had to put it in context.