Should I Write A Book?

patrick jane

BANNED
Banned
Have you ever thought about writing a book? Everyone seems to do it, so it shouldn't be too hard. The truth is, it takes a great deal of imagination, discipline, hard work and research. I can see myself getting really interested in a subject and having enough resources to write a good book. The problem is, I'm not really an expert on any particular subject.

The one thing I have going my way is plenty of free time. I have a few ideas about writing a fictional book, which I believe to be harder than writing non-fiction. I may be good at children's books, who knows? Could I possibly write a Christian book? I am open to suggestions for a good subject, please feel free to submit ideas and subjects.

Tambora

Get your armor ready!
LIFETIME MEMBER
Hall of Fame
I would suggest writing something mythical/fantasy/made-up for your first try.

That way you can be creative and not have to do much research at all because your characters and their abilities are made up by you.
And the story could be a comedy, or horror, or drama, or all tree mixed in together.

You could even post chapters you have written here in a thread, and others here could critique it for grammar or contradictions, etc.
They could even suggest a better way to say something or approach a scene.

If nothing else, it could be fun and a learning experience for all involved.

Arthur Brain

Have you ever thought about writing a book? Everyone seems to do it, so it shouldn't be too hard. The truth is, it takes a great deal of imagination, discipline, hard work and research. I can see myself getting really interested in a subject and having enough resources to write a good book. The problem is, I'm not really an expert on any particular subject.