ECT Evolution

jsanford108

Hello friends. I am wondering if there are any here, in ECT, who believe in evolution.

My intentions are to discuss evolutionary theory and its concepts, and how they relate to creation/God.

My reason for choosing this forum is to eliminate atheist intrusion. I do enjoy such discussions with atheists, however, a high percentage of the time, the discussion digresses into contradictions of logic on their part, and dismissing of evidence put forth (especially when presented by a theist). Even theists will dismiss evidence that disproves their points. So in order to eliminate as many outliers as possible, I chose to hold this discussion in ECT.

As a biologist, I acknowledge evidence put forth by science. However, I reject evolutionary theory, as it goes against natural evidence. There are evolutionary concepts that are fact, such as adaptation. But these are proven concepts, not theoretical ideals.

As the discussion progresses,
I will disclose my views; for now, I just want to spark the discussion, not overload it with evidence and proofs. Again, this is a discussion of the natural and how it points to supernatural, with the knowledge that the Bible is an inerrant source of truth.

Sent from my iPhone using TOL

oatmeal

Evolution, in a sense is possible, but only within very narrow restrictions.

Genesis 1 makes that clear, everything after its own kind.

Frogs will never evolve into cats.

Frogs may evolve, but they will always remain frogs.

Horses and donkeys can breed and produce mules, but mules cannot reproduce. If two animals that similar can reproduce but their offspring cannot reproduce, what does that tell us about evolving from one kind of animal to another, it won't happen because God set it up that way.

The Japanese enjoy breeding goldfish into some very different looking fish, but even after all that very special and selective breeding, they are still goldfish.

Interplanner