ECT "GLOSSOLALIA" This might help some

Cross Reference

THE SPIRIT BADE ME GO – David du Plessis

GLOSSOLALIA
Research on the meaning and effects of “glossolalia”
"I am a physicist doing research work for a large chemical company. I am also a seminary graduate and an Episcopal priest."

Thus begins the testimony of the Rev. WiIliam O. Swan, published in Trinity Magazine, P.O. Box 2422, Van Nuys, California, at Easter of 1962. He continues his story as follows:

***** "We went into the cathedral for prayers. When I left, I had heard my own lips forming a new language, and I knew they could do it again when I so desired.

"1 decided to make speaking in tongues the object of an introspective study. Where does it really come from, in terms of theology, psychology, common sense? .. How much imagination is required to make the claims I have heard about?

***** "To get the answers, I spoke in tongues occasionally throughout the day. I was looking for patterns, repetitive phrases, clues to use for analysis. But the experiment ran into immediate difficulty.

 That 'before-the-altar' feeling would come upon me within about 45 seconds, and if I persisted for two or three minutes, I would fill with emotion.

"Since then, when I speak in tongues a simple feeling of love will drench my whole person, and appear to leave a perma*nent stain of love which does not evaporate.

"In three short days the experimental study was over, with practically all my questions still unanswered.

 I had discovered most powerfully what everyone else seems to assume: speaking in tongues is prayer!"

The writer of this article was praying with the Rev. Swan when he received the baptism in the Holy Spirit in St. Paul’s *Episcopal Cathedral, Detroit, Mich.

Speaking in Tongues Is Prayer