Feedback requested on a new hypothesis on the origin of atheism

Randy Ruggles

Hi, I'm not really sure where to post this but, since I'm a newbie here, I figured this was the best place to start. I made the following post on the Thinking Atheist forum a few weeks back and I'd now like to get the reaction of Christians. I will post it exactly as I did there. Here goes:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello. This is my first time posting and even visiting here. I must say at the outset that I am not an atheist but a Christian theist. However, most of my friends are atheists and I enjoy discussing logic and reason with them and even engaging in some friendly debates from time to time with mutual respect.

I have a tremendous interest in science and am considering writing a book about a new hypothesis I have been working on for the origin of atheism.

Please allow me to explain.

First, this is a completely naturalistic and scientifically testable and falsifiable hypothesis. There is no appeal to a deity.

A common claim from atheists I encounter is that we are all born atheists, that atheism is the default position and that people typically come to their theistic beliefs through childhood indoctrination.

But new research in neuroscience, however, is showing that this appears not to be the case and that we are actually all born believers. For evidence, I point to the work of Dr. Justin Barrett (see link below) and also Dr Paul Bloom.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/religion...laims.html