Knight's pick 10-18-2003

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nathon Detroit

LIFETIME MEMBER
LIFETIME MEMBER
Originally posted by 1Way
Welcome to TOL! I am a long time resident poster and love topics like this one.

Unconditional love is no where taught in scripture. But before we examine scripture, the issue is far simpler if we just examine what you have already said.

Unconditional love.

Take love first. Love, is it good or bad, right or wrong, godly or ungodly? Wrong, none of the above. Love is amoral and holds no necessary godly value. Biblical love that is generally taught in scripture is often spoken of without clarification that it is the good and righteous godly love, but that is because godly love is so important and so often discussed, it has become an unspoken understanding that a general reference to love found in scripture, is generally supposed to be a righteous good godly sort of love. Even the bible, even in the NT speaks about love that is wicked and hypocritical and against God and His gift of salvation.

But the amoral reality about love is only manifest, consider

A love for

Evil is evil
God is good
Immorality is bad
Righteousness is good

So love is an amoral concept, more important that having love, is having a righteous godly love. That is why scripture never equivocates on the issues of right and wrong, of true verses false, of good verses bad, of life verses death, etc.

So upon simply considering the word love, we already know that it is an amoral concept that is neither good nor bad until we fit it into it’s application or moral setting.

Secondly, unconditional. Does God ever teach anything without conditions? No. He always establishes the truth of a matter or teaching based upon the conditions of His righteousness and goodness and godliness, etc. God is the source of all that is good and right and godly, thus He is the condition upon which all good and godly and righteous things come from.