How to be creative in homeschooling while having so much other stuff on your plate.

Poly

Blessed beyond measure
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Gold Subscriber
LIFETIME MEMBER
Hall of Fame
This is a brilliant idea that this novelist came up with to incorporate her busy schedule into something she loves to do....write. She used her sons brilliant imaginations to help her keep up being a novelist. This is a must read for all of you homeschoolers out there.

"Writing can be one of the loneliest professions.
The idea passed around so many conferences and came from so many experts, that I started to believe it.

I assumed I had to be doing something wrong. I write in the middle of chaos on good days. On the bad days, I squeeze out words while fighting back the storms.

I am a full-time writer, radio talk show host, home school mom, and active social media stalker. I have a lot of plates in the air that take me to events, throw me in the middle of lunches, and basically provide little time alone.
Kathryn Lang is a writer, radio host and speaker. She's also a 10 Minute Novelist. Click her image to go to her website!Kathryn Lang is a writer, radio host and speaker. She’s also a 10 Minute Novelist. Click her image to go to her website!

I tried the isolation path. I sat in my writing room and pounded out words. I had to put on my headphones because the boys kept pounding on the door demanding I grade their school work so they could go play video games.

I tried the “office away from home” path. I sat up a temporary office in a space where I knew nobody could find me and my phone rang off the hook the whole time I was away.
The last time I heard the proclamation, I just smiled. “Writing can be one of the loneliest professions.”
Yeah, as long as you are not trying to juggle a zillion other things at the same time. I kept my thought to myself, but it made it easier for me to face down my circumstances when I got home.