Introduction

markedward

Greetings all.

I'm not sure how often I will be posting. I may read more than I post. But I will introduce myself, at least in terms of how it is important to a relatively anonymous message board, in case I do stop by to give my thoughts on a topic.

I graduated university with a degree in studio art. Other than a few religion classes I took in college, I have no formal theological training. I have been married for almost two years, and am soon to be a father.

I am a Christian, a follower of the one true God and the Lord Jesus Christ. I believe that he was born of the virgin Mary, that he lived a sinless life, that he was crucified by the corrupt religious and political establishment, that he died on the cross as a Covenant sacrifice, once-for-all-time, for the sins of mankind, that he was buried, that he rose to life on the third day, and that he ascended to the right hand of the Throne, where he presently reigns in power.

I absolutely believe in the Scriptures as the true word of God. I think certain non-canonical books (e.g. 1 Maccabees; the Didache) are very relevant for us to read to follow ancient Jewish and Christian thought, but I don't expect anyone to consider them as canonical.

Although I was raised in Protestant churches, and I still attend a Pentecostal-oriented church, I think that Protestantism is as guilty of tradition as Catholicism is, even though Protestants do a better job of sticking to what the Scripture say on certain issues where Catholics fail.