Greetings from a returnee

mitchellmckain

It has been so long I don't even remember this place. Could be that it was completely made over or that my previous involvement was brief.

I wasn't raised Christian and I was pretty much a self-starter. I have bought no package deals but made my own decisions on theological issues. Furthermore you could say I have layers and my position is more a result of a process of evolving thought rather than revolution/conversion. Thus my Christianity has its roots in existentialism and beneath that is modern science (and I am a physicist by education) and beneath that is a psychology based rationalism (both parents were psychology majors). Pragmatism and Aristotle also had some significant contributions to my way of thinking.

Theologically you can classify me as a liberal evangelical Trinitarian open theist, not universalist, with very little interest in eschatology, and who favors more of an Eastern Orthodox position on the atonement and original sin. I believe in a God of love and feel that much of Christianity has been distorted by a human obsession with power and control. I believe that the Bible is the word of God; but this does not mean inerrant, infallible, self-interpreting, or that the Bible has all the truth, or something being in the Bible is sufficient proof that something is true. What this word of God business means to me is rather...
1. God is the author using human authors, history, nations and kings as His writing instruments.
2. God has all the proprietary rights of an author and nobody should be rewriting it as they like. It says precisely what God wants it to say for whatever reason (according to what He thinks is important) and nobody should presume to think they can say it better -- even and maybe especially to eliminate ambiguities (for like many good authors, God may intend for things to be understood in different ways by different people).