And a very pleasant day to all...

Town Heretic

Out of Order
Hall of Fame
I’ve never done anything remotely like this before, so I hope creating a new thread by way of saying hello was the correct procedure.

I spent the first 29 years of my life as an atheist, including the last several of those as a Buddhist. I have for some time believed in God, but I’m not locked into any ‘holy dictation’ orthodoxy and have a number of views that would, I’m certain, have made me a lovely light to read by in times not too distant.

At present I find myself enjoying an examination of a number of faiths for their perspective on the Truth. I believe any earnest pursuit of the Truth is a pursuit of God--even if the one pursuing doesn't quite know it yet.

Lastly, I just created my own avatar, but I don't know how to replace the one I chose from the short list...bother. Any help there?

SUTG

I believe any earnest pursuit of the Truth is a pursuit of God--even if the one pursuing doesn't quite know it yet.

Blaise Pascal once said something like "If you are seeking God, then you've already found Him."

Welcome to TOL. :e4e:

Town Heretic

Out of Order
Hall of Fame
I appreciate the sentiment of your post along with the helpful advice of Knight and Nomad and the welcome of everyone.

I hate to admit I am mostly familiar with Pascal through his contributions to mathematics, though I have heard of and read bits of Pensees.

There is simply too much to take in...Sometimes the overwhelming nature of that realization leaves me reeling. I compare it with moving through infinite space at the speed of light. No matter how swiftly you travel, no matter what you encompass, you've barely moved and you hold next to nothing.

So obviously I'm going to be a light-hearted addition to this group...

Oh well, to paraphrase Gandhi, God as truth is a treasure beyond price. To which I would add: That isn't to suggest, however, that the universe won't present you with a bill.

Town Heretic

Out of Order