What's the problem?

SOTK

Before I begin what I want to say, I must admit that I am new to learning about Calvinism. I just recently started reading and studying about this so please excuse my ignorance....I'm learning.

I became interested in Calvinism a few weeks ago when it was mentioned by an Adult Bible Fellowship Group leader at my church. We are currently going through a Forgiveness workshop in this class. The subject of Total Depravity came up in this discussion and the leader of this study mentioned that as North American Baptists we subscribe to Calvinism. He didn't mention that we subscribe to the whole TULIP theology so I am not sure yet if we do or not. My wife and I are set to take our church's Member 101 class in a few weeks so I hope to learn more there and hope to get some questions answered. Also, I recently got a hold of the North American Baptist Mission Statement and the doctrine that they subscribe to. What was interesting about this is that there was a lot of emphasis placed on Grace which is what I personally subscribe to when it comes to salvation. As I say, I have more studying to do about Calvinism but it seems to me that Grace can work within the theology of Calvinism.

I am not sure yet if I agree with everything in the TULIP scheme but I do find myself agreeing with a lot of it especially Total Depravity. I am just wondering what the big deal is with those of you who seem to hate this theology so much. Is it the Grace aspect that I mentioned? Is it Pre-Destination? If it's Pre-Destination, I think I can understand because that is a hard subject for me also although I am beginning to comprehend so to speak.

I apologize if a lot of this has already been covered. I am just wanting to learn about this and interested why it seems to be despised so much here at TOL.

Thanks.

SOTK

Sozo