PDA

View Full Version : Do Atheist Really Exists?

Troublemaker
September 16th, 2008, 06:48 PM
It is very hard for me to believe anyone could not believe we have a creator.
I just think they are all lying, and if they are not lying don't they have a surprise coming!!
Any thoughts out there.
I am a newbie, I am sure this subject has been talked to death.
But I would like to know what everyone is thinking.

Zeus
September 16th, 2008, 06:57 PM
Atheists definitely exist. I saw one in the woods when I was camping. I tried to get close but she scampered off.

spider
September 16th, 2008, 07:05 PM
sigh... seriously?

Look, for one thing, saying "zomg, how can you not think that you were created" is quite a few big leaps and bounds away from "...and the creator is clearly Yahweh of the Bible, who sent his son to earth as a blood sacrifice for our sins that were set in place when our ancestors Adam and Eve ate a fruit that they were told not to eat and if people don't acknowledge or accept that blood sacrifice, they go to a place of eternal torment." etc. So you can disbelieve that anyone could not see there is a Creator, but you're also going to be incredulous or at least just as pitying of poor non-believers who believe in other different Creators. It's just not as simple as believing you have a Creator, any Creator.

For another, when I walk outside, I look around and think "Yeah... I can see how people thought the earth was flat. It does look that way. I guess a bit of inspection reveals that wrong, but intuitively it seems like common sense". Now, I'm not saying Christians or theists haven't inspected things enough to see there isn't a Creator - obviously they have - but it doesn't necessarily follow that intuition will be correct and that some people, upon inspection, will decide a creator is not necessary for their existence. The Appeal to Incredulity doesn't really cut it.