A TOL paradox: I'm new here, but I'm not new

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kara Kent

My memory isn't trustworthy and I've changed e-mail addys quite a few times in the last 10+ years since I first joined TOL. So I can't access my old usernames--don't know that I want to anyways.

Usernames I recall:
Lightbearer
Tal DeYonghe
Mara

I am the wife of Brother Vinny. We have three children. Rebecca is 10 years old and will be 11 in two months. But I swear some days it feels like she is 10 going on 16. :bang: Bobby is just turned 8 last month. And Rachel is 6. Her birthday is in November.

My interests, probably more like seasonal obsessions, usually involving history of some sort. Currently I'm studying the Titanic and her sister-ships by the White Star Line. It's not the first time I've picked up this topic over the years, and it likely won't be the last.

I've also picked up the Smallville TV series. When it was on TV I watched most of the first two seasons then life got in the way. Well on May30 my husband got Season 7 on DVD for his birthday. Well after we watched that, we had to play catch-up with the other Seasons. Then Season 8 comes out on August 25th, and Season 9 premieres on TV on September 25. Chloe is my favorite permanent character, and Kara Kent and Clark Kent tie for second.

Okay, I've got to scoot. Rebecca has a doctor check-up in half-hour. When I return, I'll finish this. I still want to tell you about theology and my beliefs. So stay tuned... ;)

Kara Kent

Okay, I'll finish this. But I get the impression that I'm boring you, so I'll be as brief as possible.

I was raised Southern Baptist, politically and morally conservative. I've studied Lordship Salvation and the alternative, Gnostism (IIRC) or "easy believe-ism." I seem to fall somewhere in the middle.

I tried to embrace Open Theism, but my prayer life suffers for it. For the sake of points of theology, I could easily see both side.